Grumbler


Boredom gnaws,
but I won’t give up.

Determined,
I set out
on this journey –
from room to room.
This room, that room,
the other room – the end.

Still resolved.
Reading, cooking,
Cleaning, writing,
Creating – Repeat.

Yoga!
Yoga for relaxation,
Yoga for flat belly,
Power yoga –
Two sessions a day!

YouTube! Veganism,
minimalism, feminism…
Blogs, hmmm…
Facebook, ugh!

I open the windows
only to close it –
struck by the desert summer.

How long
shall I hang on?!

3 responses to “Grumbler

  1. And I thought it was only me who lived like that, rattling around my rooms, trying to lose a bit more weight before I reach 50 one day very soon, and find I can’t shift the fat! 😀 Outdoors is a much better place, but I’m restricted in my energy somewhat by health issues I’ve had since I was 18 years old – it’s been too long, too still, and I should be outdoors more than I feel I can. And now this internet life seems to bring some great things and knowledge, but also keeps us all from fresh air and real life – that can’t be good can it? But it sounds in your poem like you are restricted by your dessert heat – yes? I have another blog friend in Arizona, she longs to leave the heat. She had a holiday in Scotland recently and was soooo refreshed by the non dessert weather.

    • It’s really sad when health issues restrict us – sorry for you, dear. But I’m sure you do go out now and then and get a whiff of fresh air. It’s worth it.
      I am here in the middle of a desert, destined to spend a three-month-long summer vacation INDOORS! We get to go out very rarely. My kids are used to it but for me it’s prison.
      I am in my 40’s too and the advancing age is really scary.

      I have some plans for the next fortnight – shall come back with pictures and words about it soon.

  2. Oh yes, I definitely go out for a whiff of fresh air!! 😀 At least I am able to walk, but just have to be careful I don’t overdo the exercise, or lose too much energy in one go.

    Oooh, three months of summer indoors – that sounds very frustrating indeed! I hope the time passes very quickly for you! I’m not far off the big five 0, and I know what you mean. There are differences in our bodies as we age. I find the heatwave we are experiencing at the moment with all the inactivity causes some annoying fluid retention in feet and ankles. It’s not something I’ve ever suffered before. I’ve been told it could be pre menopause symptoms – which is a thrill to know!! 😐 But on the other hand, if that is what it is, it probably won’t last too many years. I live in hope for change! 🙂

    I’ll look forward to your posts Bindu! 🙂

Guest Book

