Pansies for you


“There’s pansies, that’s for thoughts.”

 (Hamlet)

Pansy 1

pansy 2

pansy 3

pansy 4

pansy 5

pansy 6

A German fable tells of how the pansy lost its perfume. Originally pansies would have been very fragrant, growing wild in fields and forests. It was said that people would trample the grass completely in eagerness to pick pansies. Unfortunately, the people’s cows were starving due to the ruined fields, so the pansy prayed to give up her perfume. Her prayer was answered, and without her perfumed scent, the fields grew tall, and the cows grew fat on the fresh green grass. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pansy

 March, final exams, teachers busy. (Is that excuse credible enough?)

These pansies are to tell you – “I am thinking of you, though for the time being I have just these pansies to express my thoughts!”

34 responses to “Pansies for you

  1. I adore pansies with their smiling faces! Beautiful shots, Bindu!
    I thought you said you had no flowers where you live???? These are gorgeous and your photos are fantastic. Great post.
    Good luck with your students and exams!

    • Yes, I don’t get to see any flowers here (except in those assiduously preserved gardens). And these are shots from our last vacation, during our trip to a very lovely place called Kodaikanal. What brilliant colours and creations!
      Thanks a lot, Judy, for your comment and wishes! 🙂

  2. wowow.. beautiful.. summers are so beautiful I cant wait for them to some over this sideeeeeeee….

    beautiful pansies

  3. Oh, they are absolutely gorgeous! I love the colours and I love Pansies as well. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  4. lovely flowers Bindu . lovely colours.
    I learn a new plant today.
    🙂

  5. OMG they look so lovely! The shades!

  6. nice and good contrast!

  7. Nice post..The fable about how pansy lost its fragrance is interesting..Beautiful pictures..:)

  8. they are all so lovely!

  9. Love the pictures of pansies! They hold a special place in my heart because the pansy is the “official flower” of my home town.

    They also remind me that spring is here!

    Nancy

  10. Lovely pictures Bindu! I have lots of these wonderful flowers in my grandparents garden in the warm season 🙂 I love pansies and also petunias always so beautiful and with gorgeous colors!

  11. I love these pictures, Bindu!! 🙂 Purple flowers just excite me! 😀 And you have captured them here so beautifully!

  12. Beautiful story and fabulous pansy photos… I love your new template too. Best wishes with exams. 🙂

  13. Gorgeous!

    good wishes!

  14. That is a series of wonderful pictures. You have capture the intense beauty of the pansies with skills and a very good eye. My favourite is the last one for its tight crop and the delicate colours.

  15. Such pretty little things!

  16. They look exceptional and exquisitely beautiful : )

  17. Bindu, these photos are remarkable. Do you have to use a special lens to get that kind of detail?

  18. Pingback: The gladdest thing | Defeat Despair

Guest Book

