Creativity


They trickle in
Slowly, silently…

I can see them
On my eyelid screens,
I can almost touch them.

They undulate
In all forms and shapes,
A hundred designs unique,
Ideas unimagined,
Melodies unvoiced .

Momentarily I even feel
They are mine!
Then I must be a genius!

They drift and soar
As I sink down
Into the depths
Of peaceful sleep.

By morning no trace left
And I seek them, in vain,
In the maze of my brain.

Now I know what makes
A genius a genius!

20 responses to “Creativity

  1. This is so familiar! All those brilliant ideas come when you cannot grasp them, and by the time you can, they’re gone!
    “They undulate
    In all forms and shapes,
    A hundred designs unique,
    Ideas unimagined,
    Melodies unvoiced .”

    How picturesque this is!!!

    • My creativity becomes active in either one of these situations- while sleepy or cooking! And by the time I am ready to recollect them they are gone. Not fair, isn’t it? 🙂 Thank you, Usha!

  2. It happens to me all the time
    Which is why I specifically have a pencil and paper by my bedside, in the bathroom and by my school books!!!

    • I have heard Appachen say this too. For him they were designs for wood carving, what is it for you? It’s a spark that’ll be gone unless we capture it soon. But what often happens to me is, thrilled by the thought I toy with the idea until it evaporates. After a while when I try to get it back it would be just a skeleton of it!

  3. I love that, such a perfect description of that feeling!!♥ I’ve experienced that too, especially where I’ve had dreams where someone or myself has said something profound, or sang a beautiful song, and then I have absolutely no way of recalling what it was or how it went. I’m never really sure, if it’s just our fantasy mind that wishes for more, or if we really have stumbled across a genius thought, and then lost it in our memory banks. At least I’m not alone in this! 🙂

    • May be you are right – it can be our fantasy to satisfy a greedy mind. Though they are so transient at that moment we feel so delighted and proud of our creativity. What if we actually try to jot them down on a piece of paper? But we would be too preoccupied (again, that can be just an excuse). You are not alone! :)Suzy, thank you so much for your visit and the comment. 🙂

  4. Beautiful thoughts on creativity. Creativity comes when we become effortless.
    Thanks and regards.

  5. ah ha.. you know .. yayyyyyyyyyyyy
    creativity is something i think a vast majority of people lack.. we tend t ocopy immediately rather than have our own creativiness ..

    a GOOD though evoking poem ..

    Sorry i am a bit late coming over here ..

    Bikram

    • True, Bikram! Copying others’ creativity is easier than putting our own to use. Thank you, Bikram! Comments are always welcome. 🙂

  6. Beautiful insight to what creativity sometimes means. The feeling of being close to the genius and then slipping away. But then suddenly they are back again, aren’t they?!

    • Yes, they last only for a fleeting moment. They won’t wait for us till we are in a free or convenient position.
      Thank you! Glad to see you here again. 🙂

  7. Beautifully written. It flows like waves gently carasseing a white beach.

  8. Wow this is so amazingly written Mam. ❤ I loved it! Btw I am Zareen. 🙂

  9. Search for the creativity in the morning is so painful. We remeber how great it was but not what it was.

Guest Book

