Who needs honesty?


I am obsessed with honesty –
Two-way.
Excuse me if I sound
‘Holier-than-thou’.

It’s a wretched addiction,
An unfair expectation,
And a crazy passion,
An unrequited act.

Should I be so unrelenting?
Need I go mad
When others swerve?

Deeds of dishonesty
Are often left unfurled
Right on my way,
Just for me to see.
It’s a hoax, I fear.

The bull sees red
And goes hysterical!

Why not put an end
To this cruel game?

Let them do it,
But do me a favour –
Make me blind to it!

16 responses to “Who needs honesty?

  1. Excellent!! 🙂 I feel the same too, nothing makes my blood boil more than dishonesty – on any level! I guess it’s a common human flaw, and maybe I’ve done it at times without even being aware of it, (but I hope not). Perhaps I take attitude and intention too seriously. Not seeing it in the first place would definitely help. But, then I’d be naive, and I wouldn’t want that either! 🙂

    • I hate dishonesty when it is done for cheap, selfish motives. But these days most of the youngsters find it something quite acceptable and normal. They are so used to lies that they have come to a stage where they cannot discern between truth and lie. Thank you, Suzy, for your thoughtful comment.

  2. I can’t say anything about this. .as I have been dishonest myself ..

    I pray and hope someday god will forgive me. .

    • No one is cent percent honest. But acts of dishonesty from people who mean a lot to us will almost devastate us. God shall forgive, but certain human beings like me cannot be that kind and compassionate.

  3. Bindu, for some of us who could not lie successfully even if we try (just don’t know HOW to do it much less WHY one would want to) it does feel as if we are trying to play straight in a crooked game. I was well into adulthood before I realized that even “nice” and “good” people did not mean what they say a lot of the time. It’s something I have to keep reminding myself when I feel hurt or let down…

    • Of late I have gone through quite a bit of difficulty because of lies other people say. Even today something very painful happened. Some students and parents believe there is nothing wrong in making wrong allegations against the teachers they don’t like for some strange reasons of their own making. Such incidents affect one’s morale and spirit. Thank you, Julia, for being here.

  4. A nice post Bindu. In the real world the term honesty can lead to varying interpretations some good folk believe that being honest to a fault is not practical. And others believe in ‘honesty of purpose’ meaning the ‘end justifies the means’.
    Cheers 🙂

    • We are too practical these days, and we are never short of justifications. But a lie is a lie is a lie. I agree there are harmless lies. However I cannot tolerate lies with selfish motives or malicious intentions. Thank you for your wise words, Dilip Naidu!

  5. Wow! You’re a poet. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Your words really resonate with me too. I’m honest to a fault, and find it confusing that others are not.

    • Welcome! I often find many others around me quite comfortable with lies. They never consider it a serious mistake. And I start feeling there’s something wrong with me. Thanks for being here!

      • I understand the feeling as well. I’ve come to terms with the fact that being honest is simply who I am. I’m comfortable with that, and sad for others who don’t understand the tremendous benefits of honesty.

      • The dishonesty of those who matter will affect us terribly. You are right – those who are dishonest don’t know the benefits of honesty. I often tell this to students – one lie cannot stand alone; it needs the support of another hundred and that too without much use. Thank for your thoughtful words!

      • Very well said, Bindu ‘one lie cannot stand alone.’ I hope they heed your words.

      • Thank you! 🙂

  6. Ahan. The dilemma of when to be honest or not… and how to assay it, shall always be there – however, the manner in which we respond to it, I think says a lot about one’s own integrity. Whether we are or aren’t, accept it or not, there is absolutely no doubt that it has to be one of the most valued, and rare qualities of today!
    And yes, I do get where you are coming from!

    I’m on a reading spree here, backwards in chronology, and I just want to tell you that I am blown over by the versatility of your expression of the ordinary in verse! Love it!

    • I am trying to teach myself to take it easy. But at times it hurts, especially when we experience it from those who matter. Sometimes I feel it all is my fault – may be I’m unforgiving, unrelenting…. I don’t know! I must be more empathetic and compassionate.
      “And yes, I do get where you are coming from!”?? (I’m dumb:) )
      Thank you, Usha, for spending so much time here! I am humbled by your words of appreciation. When it is from a great writer/teacher like you, it’s definitely an honour! Made my day! 🙂

Guest Book

