‘Self propelled flowers’


“Is it possible to become friends with a butterfly?”

“It is if you first become a part of nature. You suppress your presence as a human being, stay very still, and convince yourself that you are a tree or grass or a flower. It takes time, but once the butterfly lets its guard down, you can become friends quite naturally.”
Haruki Murakami

P1100302

“Butterflies are self propelled flowers. ”
― R.H. Heinlein

P1100303

P1100304

“A fallen blossom
returning to the bough, I thought —
But no, a butterfly.”
― Arakida Moritake

P1100305

“You can only chase a butterfly for so long.”
― Jane Yolen

P1100306

“I hate quotations. Tell me what you know.”
― Ralph Waldo Emerson

How heartless of him! 😀

39 responses to “‘Self propelled flowers’

  1. Beautiful shots..

  2. nice pictures..:)

  3. Beautiful captured butterflies. My favourite picture is the last one where one of the butterflies are on the verge of flying away. Lovely. By the way Haruki Murakami is one of the greatest contemporary writers in my mind.

    • Thank you! From you such words mean a great honour. The place was full of butterflies because of that special plant.
      And I must admit I am not familiar with the writer. Now I think I must start reading Murakami. Thanks!

  4. Beautiful post today Bindu – I needed a bit of this. Thank you 🙂

  5. The pictures 🙂 And the quotes with each…Brilliant. Literally and figuratively 🙂 🙂

  6. very lovely photographs…
    really nice shots…
    i like it very much….

  7. I love these photos, and the quotes too! Shame on Mr. Emerson; he could scarcely imagine how often future generations would be quoting many of the things he said or wrote himself! Lovely blog, a real boost to my spirits!

    • Quotes are of great help to me when my words are insufficient or when they refuse to surface. 🙂
      Thank you, Julia! Glad to know you liked them.

  8. Lovely captures which do full justice to the beauty of butterflies. Loved the quote by Haruki Murakami. Despite what Ralph Emerson has to say 🙂
    Cheers & best regards.

  9. Hi Bindu
    Thank you for visiting my blog.

    Loved those pictures of the butterflies in your garden – Googled for the name but haven’t been able to nail it yet. Am not as good with butterflies as I am with birds. Any idea what species these butterflies belong to?

    Some nice quotes too.

    • Thank you, Jayadev! I wish I had a garden and those butterflies were my visitors! They were captured during our last vacation during a trip to a resort at Alappuzha.
      Very bad at names. But now I am curious.

      • I am an avid birder – love the outdoors and nature – but am not as good with butterflies and moths as I am with bird names.

      • Are there enough birds left for birdwatching these days- I wonder….

      • Good question!

        Fortunately there are some still left, but the numbers are depleting fast!! 😦

  10. Continuing from my previous comment … I think it is one of the Tigers. Blue Tiger?

  11. Those are beautiful captures Bindu.
    Totally loved it. 🙂

  12. I love the Murakami quote 🙂

  13. And of course the lovely butterfly pictures!

  14. Aren’t these from Kayaloram?
    I think that butterflies are so beautiful because they surround themselves with the beautiful flowers and not worry at all. they must be believing that they are flowers themselves and as their belief was so strong they turned into self propelled flowers.

  15. Back to savour your blog in the light of new experiences! 🙂 They are Dark Blue Tiger butterflies if I am not mistaken (I have gathered a tiny bit more knowledge about butterflies since the last time I commented!)

Guest Book

