Old Keys


Tiny,
Hefty,
Long,
Flat,
Hollow…

They once guarded
Unknown doors,
Strong lockers,
Antique trunks,
Grand gates,
While the owners slept peacefully.

Though abandoned, lost, separated,
They still
…hold secrets
…guard treasures
…lock somebody up(!)
But they no longer
…start engines
…help succeed πŸ˜‰
… peep through. πŸ˜›

Wonder what mystery
They may unlock,
Some day.

Widowed
Rusty
Old keys.

I lock them up!

(Edited on 12/4/13)

11 responses to “Old Keys

  1. Wistful… reminds me of keys to a place long forgotten

  2. Nice poem..But a small doubt maam, From where did you get the idea to write this poem?? πŸ˜€

    • Good question. πŸ™‚
      While clearing my room (at school) of the last year’s trash I came across a heap of old keys. I wondered where they all came from and the thinking ended up in this poem. πŸ™‚

  3. Keys. We’re always looking for them, then after them, and never the wiser to their wisdom πŸ™‚
    Lovely lovely verse!

  4. Very intriguing. As you said, I too have such a hard time throwing away any key I find, at home or elsewhere. What if it is “someday” needed to unlock something? They do indeed stir the imagination, but I have never seen any poem about them. Very original! Hmmm, maybe next you could do a short story collection about the untold stories behind the various keys?

    • Throwing away a key – really hard. But nobody ever came in search of the keys. I have been keeping them for about ten years! But still I keep them safe.
      Good idea! Each key would have a story/stories to tell. That would make a good assignment topic for creative writing. πŸ™‚

  5. Love it! Sometimes old keys look magical to me πŸ™‚

  6. Keys suddenly seem alive to me. I always have my way with locks and keys but I never thought how life would be from their perspective.

Guest Book

