Simplify, Simplify


P1100719
Simplicity is not leading a very simple life with bountiful wealth and luxury that one can lay hands on, but building no desire to have surplus resources in spite of living in abject penury situations.

“Manifest plainness,
Embrace simplicity,
Reduce selfishness,
Have few desires.”
Lao Tzu

“Our life is frittered away by detail. Simplify, simplify.”
― Henry David ThoreauWalden and Other Writings

23 responses to “Simplify, Simplify

  1. SO very true.. even with lots of money one can live a simple life .. for sure

    you know i so want to go and live in my village now

    • Hmmm… that’s a dream of every expat… But wonder if there is any going back! By the time we reach there it would have transformed into something beyond recognition….

  2. Great post!
    Thanks for becoming a follower of my blog. I look forward on seeing more!
    -Audrey

  3. I am with you in what you point at with this post and the quotes you have included. We all too often seek out a life style that makes us forget how to be human and more humbled. Thank you.

  4. Many of us, certainly in the West, live lives too far removed from the natural way of nature and to our detriment.

    • After being used to the modern amenities it is difficult to stay away from them. We join the rat race without even analyzing the results or effects.

      • Or indeed without even knowing it is a rat race ! it is the culture of always having to have more and replace items ( like phones) which don’t need to be replaced..that is so damagin too

  5. Thanks for the gentle reminder that it truly is the simple things in life that are most worthwhile.

    Nancy

  6. We all of us are searching for the ultimate bliss by various means. Though our Goal is same but moving in different ways. I Think the best way to reach the stage of Ultimate happiness (Bliss) is to have less desires. As what Budha told Desire is the cause of Misery. Hope you remember the story of Alexander the great and Diogenes. The possessions for pleasures are the root cause of all our miseries.

    So better to have less bondage and possessions.

    • You are right. The more materialistic we turn the more will be our greed and uneasiness. We don’t need too much (of anything) to be happy. Thank you, Chachan, for that insightful comment.

  7. I think being simple is beautiful, it sure does bring out the best in you by being simple.

  8. It’s just that the simplest things in life sometimes are the most difficult things to do! 🙂
    Glad to be reading you again, Bindu!

  9. So true! In fact, I try to tell my little boy this. He can play football in an open ground instead of playing a soccer game on an i-pad. He seems to understand only when we go on vacations and I don’t allow him to use an i-pad or mobile. 😉

    • Welcome to my blog, Shreeja! We are so addicted to the devices that we rarely spend time out there with nature. We unnecessarily keep on complicating our lives only to end up frustrated.

  10. “…Embrace simplicity,
    Reduce selfishness,
    Have few desires…”
    +
    – yes, but I need at least
    an internet connection …

  11. Bindu, whenever we are thinking of buying something new, my husband asks, “Do we need it?” and I always reply “We don’t NEED anything, we only want things.” 🙂 Once I admit that to myself, I am less inclined to go after the latest thing to catch my eye…Lovely blog and photos, I’ll look forward to visiting again!

    • True. We often find ourselves collecting things for the sheer pleasure of shopping. These days I too try sincerely to resist the temptation – I save a lot, both money and space. Thank you for that comment. Welcome to my blog!

Guest Book

