XMASLESS


The other day a group visited us. They came in stealthily like thieves. Two members of the group rushed in to the bedroom. After a few minutes one of them emerged dressed up as the Santa. My little one was scared. They sang in their softest voice without any musical accompaniment. The Santa hurried to the bedroom to regain his normal looks. Silent wishes. They were gone. And that is how carols come here.
My girls didn’t even realize what was happening. How could they, who have never in their life seen or celebrated the real Christmas?
One more Christmas behind closed doors. No illuminations. No paper stars. No midnight mass. No crackers. No guests. But yes, there is a gloomy Christmas tree on our TV stand – to remind us “so this is Christmas”. Now and then my husband plays some Christmas songs to create the mood of Christmas. But I don’t think it was of any use.
And tomorrow I am not going to school, just because my dear ones will be at home. Restricted holiday – for the Christian staff. But I am availing it for the first time. So what shall we do tomorrow? Early morning there will be a decent breakfast of ‘appam’ and curry. Of course, there will be a cake. For lunch we are planning some fried rice and some dessert. We shall christen the day ‘Christmas’. We shall be all alone.
Don’t ask me – “So this is Christmas, and what have you done?” Not the right kind of post for such an auspicious day, I know. But this is the reality.
But you must have a great time! HAPPY CHRISTMAS TO ALL MY DEAR BLOGGER FRIENDS!

23 responses to “XMASLESS

  1. Oh, that is such a shame when one cannot express to one’s heart content, a joy that comes with the season of peace on Earth and Goodwill to all!
    However contained that joy is, finally it is joy, and I’d like to wish you and your family the peace and happiness of this Christmas season!
    Glad that there will be celebration, muted though it is.
    A question: why is it that public celebration is not allowed there?

    • Thank you, Usha, for your wishes! Yes, we are celebrating, but it is like a soft drink minus fizz. Don’t know when our kids could enjoy something closer to the real Christmas…

  2. Merry Christmas! – Loratis Team

  3. Well at least you’re honest about it and I for one appreciate it. But why such doom n gloom have I missed something on your blog? I hope all is well.

    • Thank you, Princess Laila. 🙂 Nothing wrong and life is normal; but here in this part of the world Christmas has always been the same. We are pretending to be celebrating.

  4. Merry Christmas..)…It is nice that you are not going to school today…instead you are spending and enjoying your Christmas with your dear ones..Last year, we also had a doubt that why ma’am is not taking a leave even though it was Christmas..Please don’t think that we thought like that because we did not want you to take the class..In my opinion, all enjoyable days will become so gloomy in this country..That is why we always long for reaching our homeland to enjoy our festivals or festive days..Anyway this is not a happy post but a nice one..We can pray to God to make your children experience or enjoy the real festive mood of Christmas in the next year itself…:)

  5. Hey Bindu, Merry Christmas. I do hope that next christmas, you get to be with your family and have the kind of christmas party that you’ve been missing. 🙂

  6. Happy new year to you as well! Life’s Very busy. Hardly blogging/reading anymore. I’m really loving what you did to your blog, it looks so spruced up and neat! “shall be visiting me soon?” Really? 🙂

  7. Searching for the Light

    Hope you enjoyed your Christmas muted though it may have been. Just wanted to let you know that I have nominated you for a Candle Lighters Award. You don’t have to do anything for this one. For more see here http://wp.me/p1GBe4-bw

  8. This post made me sad. You r not allowed to celebrate? I dont kno maybe I misunderstood your post. [kinds of reminds me of my lonely Christmas days 😦 … ]

    But I hope that you will have a great New Year’s day come this weekend. 🙂

    And I wish you the best New Year ahead!

    • Elyas, you got it right. Here there is no Christmas:( though it is there in our hearts. Still, festivals become festivals only when they are celebrated in public and that’s what we miss here. Happy New Year, dear friend!

  9. Bindu….my hopes and wishes are the same hopes and wishes you want.
    I will keep them close to my heart, and know that one day they will be real for you. hugs to you, my friend….

  10. Bindu……..I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! Congrats!
    http://jayjaysfavorites.wordpress.com/2011/12/29/the-versatile-blogger-award/

  11. Bindu:

    I’ve nominated you for both the Liebster and Candle Lighter awards!! 🙂

    HAPPY 2012!!! I wish you all the best!! 🙂

    Here is the link to grab your awards: http://kweschn.wordpress.com/2011/12/31/liebster-and-candle-lighter-blogs/ 😉

  12. Thnak you Bindu! It is important to remind those who celebrate that it is not a universal holidays for all… I love the way you presented this piece… Happy Holidays! 🙂

Guest Book

