Fancy tickled


Words rarely do justice to the ‘spontaneous overflow of my emotions’. Yet, just an attempt to string the desultory thoughts.

It was stirred up a few days ago, by some delicate pictures and verse. Thank you, Usha, Shail, and my dear sister!

And it was taken to its peak by a film on TV. The familiar songs of that film had never evoked much interest in me. Prejudiced, I had written it off as trite. When I started watching, it was already halfway through and so couldn’t even get the storyline.

It was the dampness depicted that tranced me out. You will be wondering how a film, that too on the mini screen, can do that. Well, as the saying goes, it’s all in our head. The film may not appeal with the same intensity to the aesthetic sense of another viewer. It simply jibed well with my mood, that’s all.

 

The dark green foliage, the shades, the serenity, the sounds, the smell of the soil, the wetness of the forest… It all came trickling down to my soul, through something beyond my normal senses.

 Where am I? In the sweltering desert or in the middle of some remote rainforest? I couldn’t discern. I couldn’t control the urge to open the window, anticipating the raging clouds, the shroud of darkness, and the rustle or the rumble of the distant rain. The repulsive sun made me retreat to the forced coolness of the room.

My daughter once told me there is a special smell all about my parents’ house. (My husband and kids had been to that place only during the monsoons when the whole place will be soggy and cold.) While young I loathed the dankness for the creatures that crawled and crept in, seeking refuge, though snuggling under the covers, tuned in to the pitter-patter on the roof, ah, was bliss! (How I treated myself to the abreaction of that experience elaborating on Nissim Ezekiel’s Night of the Scorpion!  Much of it might have gone over the heads of my hapless students born and brought up here.) I used to yearn for the dry summers. Now that very same Dryness has got back at me!

Grateful to you film maker, cinematographer and the one who chose the location, for that treat!

Nine more months to go!

Nine looong months in between me and the heavenly showers…

22 responses to “Fancy tickled

  1. Movies and songs plays with our sentiments differently at different times.
    “It’s all in our head” is just the right way to put it :)
    When we are happy we enjoy happy go lucky scenes.
    When we a are down in the gutter, anything everything that depicts depression appeals to us and we feel that the story is just made for us …

    • That’s exactly what I wanted to say, Amira. The enjoyment largely depends on the mood we are in at the time of watching. I cannot forget the Jim Reeves songs which I listened to while going through a peculiar phase in my life. Even when I listen to those songs today I almost relive it.

  2. We yearn to run away from the familar only to long for it later…
    Which movie is this?

    • Right, the same old lesson that ‘we never prize the music till the sweet-voiced bird has flown’.
      Good question, Bindu. Not mentioning the title was deliberate (so as not to disappoint the reader). It’s Photographer (Mal).

  3. And may those nine months pass in a flash :) But, knowing how schools function, that might be a long flash :D!
    There is a burgeoning sultriness, a rain rinsed feeling, right through the post. It touches one, the yearning, and the drenching of memories. You write beautifully of that. It’s hard to believe you have a dry desert around you :)
    Wishes for rain thereabouts, if possible or maybe a trip to somewhere where it does :)

    • So sweet of you, Usha. Your words make me happy. It’s indeed a long flash – taking into account the number of activities and exams in between.
      Glad that I could take across at least a share of my feeling.
      Here it rains just once a year, and during the last two years it was calamitous. And moreover the rain is beautiful only when it falls on some vegetation or water bodies. Here over the concrete jungle it’s just a waste of natural resources.
      Once again thanks for inspiring me. :D

  4. Those are lovely atmospheric takes

  5. Bindu, I love this entry! :) I also feel the same every now and then when I listen to music, watch movie, or nature itself. I like the pictures also. They have such delicate quality, especially the first one. I like its blurriness, reminds me of Amira’s blog. :lol:

    Am gonna quote you on this: “Words rarely do justice to the ‘spontaneous overflow of my emotions’. Yet, just an attempt to string the desultory thoughts.” Excellent write up! :D

  6. Every place does have its own unique smell, just like water has its taste. All these details only kick in once you are separated from the area unless of course you are a very observant person like me! You’re right about the fact that people like certain things depending on their level of emotion at that time.

  7. Nice post :d

  8. A sign of good art is that it stirs emotions in the view or the one experiencing the art. So for films, too, of course. We don’t always understand what triggers our response – and as you say the response varies from one person to another. But certainly past times experience re-awoken often is the connection – as it seems in your case with this movie. So yes, it’s all in your head…

Guest Book

