Play it safe with your emoticons


 (What can you do if you unintentionally rile someone with your words? This is a comment to myself – an attempt to patch up.)

You had in mind a ‘Jeu d’esprit’        :-O
Which has ended up a dud wit!         _
Yes, you were smiling as you typed it      ;-)
But remember she was miles away!

*sigh*

 It would have worked face-to-face;
It should have been in your mother tongue.

*sigh*

All you can do now is
Wear this     D:<   emoticon round your neck,
And chant these mantras while commenting:        O:)

No more ‘humorous’ comments,
(Loose lips sink ships!)
No more trusting those phony smileys.   

Om, shanti, shanti, shanti….         :-|

 

Will it mend it or rend it?

MSN Messenger EmoticonsWhy Are Emoticons Important Online?

Image courtesy: MSN Messenger Emoticons

13 responses to “Play it safe with your emoticons

  1. I am similing and I am not an emoticon!

    • But then I am curious to know what you really are – in internet all the smile job is done by those smileys. Thank you and welcome to my blog :)

  2. well emoticons do play a pivotal role these days in the era of Interner and virtual lifes …

  3. Nice post…:)..Maam, can you trust this smiley? :D

  4. Well penned :) And i do love and live with these smilies :) :)

  5. I love this so much. I am going ot share this on FB :)

    • At last there you are! Can’t believe it!! How did you find this one out?

      You must be surprised to know this poem was meant for you(trust me), written after the last time I commented on one of your posts. You can easily trace that out, and what went ‘wrong’. May be it is all in my head. But now I really feel happy, do accept it.

      Your visit and comment have made my day. It’s really an honour for me.

  6. All it takes is three characters to make, but the emoticon bring forward so many emotions. I love your writing.

Guest Book

